A lesson in recipe interpretation

Standard

I don’t have a recipe tonight, just an observation.

When attempting a new recipe that appears in a photocopied recipe book from a country like Thailand, it is probably quite authentically Thai, and I would be well-advised to remember that, unlike the creators of these recipes, I am of Irish descent, and hence anything more spicy than potatoes will singe my eyebrows.  And that two Thai chilies is probably about 1.5 chilies too many in this particular case.

Once I determine the correct spice level for my sensitive Irish palate, I’ll share what I’m sure will be an excellent Thai Coconut Soup recipe.

Lisa

 

 

2 responses »

  1. When I use hot peppers I wear gloves, glasses,and, generally,de seed them and/or put them in a tea ball if they need to cook in the bouillon. (the seeds contain the most caspcium if that is the right word for the hot.) Keep well love S

Leave a comment